top of page

Assignments due Monday

1. Historical Fiction Final Draft

You will submit at the beginning of class:

1) Your final story (please see assignment guidelines and rubric.)

2) Your first draft with feedback and your edits and revisions.

3) Editing and Revising Checklist

4) Writer's Reflection

2. Seasons Webquest

You will turn in:

1) Seasons research packet

2) 4 poster for each topic: Misconceptions, Earth's Tilt, Earth's location, and Angle

**Remember to review the assignment guidelines and rubric before submitting.

Writer's Reflection Questions

Writer’s Reflection: Historical Fiction Short Story

  • I used my writing time well in class. 1 2 3 4 5

  • I worked at home to meet deadlines. 1 2 3 4 5

  • I reflect on my writing and try to get better. 1 2 3 4 5

  • I have given advice or helped someone in our class to get better as a writer. 1 2 3 4 5

  • The writing I am turning in today is my best work. 1 2 3 4 5

  • Describe your strengths and areas for growth as a writer.

Strengths: _____________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________

Areas for Growth:

____________________________________________________________________

____________________________________________________________________

____________________________________________________________________

Editing and Revising Checklist

Name:

Title of Piece:

Historical Fiction Editing Checklist

  • My NAME and the TITLE of my report are written at the top of my story.

  • My story has at least 3 pages types or 5 pages handwritten. I’ve indented each paragraph or skipped a line in between each paragraph.

  • I’ve checked my SPELLING.

  • I’ve CHECKED MY PUNCTUATION. Every sentence ends with closing punctuation (period, exclamation point, question mark).

  • I’ve CHECKED MY CAPITALIZATION. Every sentence starts with a CAPITAL letter. Names are CAPITALIZED. Please make sure you are NOT using a font that is all caps.

  • I’ve checked that my piece is NEAT, NEAT, NEAT!!! It looks the way I want it to look on the page(s).

  • I’ve looked for where I left out words by mistake, and I’ve filled in the missing words.

  • I have checked to make sure that my story has a strong lead.

  • I have checked to make sure that all of my subjects and verbs agree.

  • I have written a historical fiction short story.

  • My story does not include anachronisms or unexplained fantastical/unreal characters or events.

  • I have READ my piece OUT LOUD (at a Level 1 whisper if in the classroom) to myself TWO TIMES:

  • Date: Time:

  • Date: Time:

  • I’ve had TWO PEOPLE listen to me read my piece OUT LOUD.

  • Person One’s Name:

  • Person Two’s Name:


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
Follow Us
bottom of page